Home News Classic Rock News ZZ Top to Release First Official Live Album, “Greatest Hits Live,” in...

ZZ Top to Release First Official Live Album, “Greatest Hits Live,” in August


Suretone RecordsAfter 45 years of playing their brand of blues-rock boogie around the world, ZZ Top finally will release their first official live album later this summer. Featuring performances from several of the Texas trio’s tours and recorded in cities across the globe, Greatest Hits Live will hit stores on August 12.

The album features 15 songs, including live renditions of such classic ZZ Top tunes as “Cheap Sunglasses,” “Legs,” “Sharp Dressed Man,” “La Grange,” Gimme All Your Lovin'” and “Tush.” The record also boasts a pair of onstage collaborations with British guitar legend Jeff Beck — a version the band’s 1985 tune “Rough Boy” and a cover of the 1955 Tennessee Ernie Ford hit “Sixteen Tons.” You can check out the “Rough Boy” performance now at Rhino Record’s official YouTube channel.

“We spend the biggest stretch of every year out on the road, whippin’ wire, poundin’ skin, and rockin’ it way up,” notes ZZ Top frontman Billy Gibbons. “This is the true document of life de la ZZ. In an abstract surrealism style, this collection is a definitive chronicle of the band hangin’ together for four plus deluxe decades, getting down to do what we get to do.”

ZZ Top’s touring schedule is as busy as ever this year. The band kicks off a European tour this Thursday in London and will play the U.K.’s famed Glastonbury Festival the next day. After the overseas trek winds down on July 19, the Rock and Roll Hall of Famers will return to the U.S. for a lengthy series of concerts running from August 16 through November 12. The dates include joint shows with Gregg Allman and Gov’t Mule, as well as headlining gigs.

Here is the full track list of Greatest Hits Live, along with the cities in which each song was recorded:

“Got Me Under Pressure” — New York
“Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers” — Las Vegas
“Cheap Sunglasses” — Paris
“Waitin’ for the Bus” — Chicago
“Jesus Just Left Chicago” — Chicago
“Legs” — São Paolo
“Sharp Dressed Man” — Los Angeles
“Rough Boy” (with Jeff Beck) — London
“Pincushion” — Berlin
“La Grange” — Dallas
“I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide” — Vancouver
“Tube Snake Boogie” — Rome
“Gimme All Your Lovin'” — Houston
“Tush” — Nashville
“Sixteen Tons” (with Jeff Beck) — London

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.