Home News Classic Rock News Petty guitarist Mike Campbell’s side band The Dirty Knobs to release debut...

Petty guitarist Mike Campbell’s side band The Dirty Knobs to release debut album in March


After touring the world for the past year or so with Fleetwood Mac, founding Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers guitarist Mike Campbell is turning his attention to his longtime side project The Dirty Knobs. The Campbell-fronted band will release its debut album, Wreckless Abandon, on March 20; the title track is available now digitally.

In addition, a video for “Wreckless Abandon” has premiered at Campbell’s official YouTube channel. The song sounds similar to many Petty & the Heartbreakers tunes: It features a Byrds-like jangly electric 12-string guitar and Mike’s nasal vocals, which are reminiscent of Tom’s.

“Losing Tom was earth-shattering for me…It had felt like we would be playing together forever,” Campbell tells Rolling Stone. “For a while it was hard to imagine playing in my own band again, let alone one where I’m the frontman…But everything I’ve been doing since Tom passed, including this album with The Dirty Knobs, is in the spirit of honoring what we did together.”

Wreckless Abandon includes guest contributions from country star Chris Stapleton and Heartbreakers keyboardist Benmont Tench. You can pre-order the album now.

Meanwhile, The Dirty Knobs have announced dates for a 2020 U.S. tour in support of the album, kicking off March 10 in Minneapolis and running through an April 28 concert in Tampa, Florida. The group also will play a January 24-25 stand at the Soho Restaurant & Music Club in Santa Barbara, California.

Tickets for the tour dates go on sale to the general public this Friday, January 17, at 10 a.m. local time. Members of Petty & the Heartbreakers’ Highway Companions Club and The Dirty Knobs’ fan club will be able to purchase pre-sale tickets starting Wednesday, January 15, at 10 a.m. local time.

Here’s Wreckless Abandon‘s full track list:

“Wreckless Abandon”
“Pistol Packin’ Mama” — featuring Chris Stapleton
“Southern Boy”
“I Still Love You”
“Irish Girl”
“F*** That Guy”
“Don’t Knock the Boogie”
“Don’t Wait”
“Anna Lee”
“Aw Honey”
“Loaded Gun”
“Don’t Knock the Boogie (Coda)”

Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.