Home News Classic Rock News Heart Offering Fans Something Old and Something New on Upcoming Album, “Beautiful...

Heart Offering Fans Something Old and Something New on Upcoming Album, “Beautiful Broken”


Concord RecordsJust in time for their summer tour with Joan Jett & the Blackhearts and Cheap Trick, Heart will release a new studio album called Beautiful Broken on July 8. The 10-track album features a mix of updated renditions of earlier tunes by the band and a few new songs, including the hard-rocking title track, which boasts a guest appearance by Metallica‘s James Hetfield.

In making Beautiful Broken, Heart’s Ann and Nancy Wilson decided to revisit a number songs from their ’80s back catalog and remake them without the glossy production that characterized that era.

“There is really a seventies feel to this record both in the sound, and the way we got to the emotional core of each song,” explains Nancy Wilson. “We picked songs that we always wanted to re-do, plus we’ve added three new tracks. On both new and old, we have the band playing together the way we used to.”

The song “Beautiful Broken” first appeared as a bonus track on Heart’s previous studio album, 2012’s Fanatic, but the band rerecorded the tune with Hetfield contributing vocals and some new lyrics.

“James just took the song on, and what he added was perfect with a bite and a rock accent,” says Nancy. The updated version is the lead single of the new album.

Another new tune on Beautiful Broken is “Two,” which is sung by Nancy and was written by popular R&B singer Ne-Yo.

As for the reworked tunes, two each appeared originally on 1980’s Bebe Le Strange, 1982’s Private Audition and 1983’s Passionworks. Beautiful Broken was co-produced by Nancy and Heart bassist Dan Rothchild, who’s the son of famed Doors producer Paul Rothchild.

Heart’s Rock Hall Three for All Tour with Jett and Cheap Trick kicks off July 14 in Clarkston, Michigan.

Here’s the full track list for Beautiful Broken:

“Beautiful Broken”
“Sweet Darlin'”
“I Jump”
“Johnny Moon”
“City’s Burning”
“Down on Me”
“One Word”
“Language of Love”

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.