Home News Classic Rock News New CD Compilation Revisits Eric Clapton’s Star-Packed Crossroads Guitar Festivals

New CD Compilation Revisits Eric Clapton’s Star-Packed Crossroads Guitar Festivals


RhinoEvery three years from 2004 to 2013, Eric Clapton hosted and organized the Crossroads Guitar Festival, a series of star-studded music extravaganzas that raised money for his Crossroads Centre rehab facility in Antigua. Now, a new compilation titled Crossroads Revisited: Selections from the Crossroads Guitar Festival featuring highlights from the events is scheduled to be released as a three-CD set and digital download on July 1.

Held in various U.S. cities in 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013, the Crossroads Guitar Festival featured an impressive lineup of respected musicians from the worlds of rock, blues and country. Among the many stars appearing on the anthology’s 41 tracks are Carlos Santana, ZZ Top, B.B. King, Jeff Beck, Ronnie Wood, Joe Walsh, James Taylor, Steve Winwood, Buddy Guy, Willie Nelson, Steve Cropper, Booker T. Jones, J.J. Cale, John Mayer, Warren Haynes, Derek Trucks, Los Lobos, Sheryl Crow, Vince Gill and Jimmie Vaughan.

Highlights from the compilation include Clapton playing solo versions of his classic “Layla” and George Harrison‘s “Isn’t It a Pity,” as well as Slowhand teaming up with Santana on a rendition of “Drums of Passion (Jingo),” with Cale on a version of “After Midnight” and with Winwood for covers of Traffic‘s “Dear Mr. Fantasy” and Blind Faith‘s “Presence of the Lord.” Crossroads Revisited also features Walsh and Taylor teaming up to play “Steam Roller,” and Clapton collaborating with King, Vaughan and The Robert Cray Band to play “Everyday I Get the Blues.”

In all, Crossroads Revisited features almost four hours of previously unreleased performances.

Clapton founded the Crossroads Centre in in 1998 to help treat and educate people battling chemical dependency.

Here is the full track list of the Crossroads Revisited compilation:

Disc One:

“Sweet Home Chicago” — Eric Clapton, Robert Cray, Buddy Guy, Hubert Sumlin & Jimmie Vaughan (2004)
“Rock Me Baby” — Eric Clapton, Buddy Guy, B.B. King & Jimmie Vaughan (2004)
“Steam Roller” — James Taylor with Joe Walsh (2004)
“What the Cowgirls Do” — Vince Gill with Jerry Douglas (2004)
“After Midnight” — J.J. Cale with Eric Clapton (2004)
“Green Light Girl” — Doyle Bramhall II (2004)
“Hell at Home” — Sonny Landreth with Eric Clapton (2007)
“City Love” — John Mayer (2004)
“Funk 49” — Joe Walsh (2004)
“Drums of Passion (Jingo)” — Carlos Santana with Eric Clapton (2004)
“Cause We’ve Ended as Lovers” — Jeff Beck (2007)
“Have You Ever Loved a Woman (Blues in C)” — Eric Clapton (2004)
“Layla” — Clapton (2004)

Disc Two:

“Little by Little” — Susan Tedeschi with The Derek Trucks Band (2007)
“Poor Johnny” — The Robert Cray Band (2007)
“Paying the Cost to Be the Boss” — B.B. King with The Robert Cray Band, Jimmie Vaughan & Hubert Sumlin (2007)
“Tulsa Time” — Sheryl Crow with Eric Clapton, Vince Gill & Albert Lee (2007)
“On the Road Again” — Willie Nelson with Sheryl Crow, Vince Gill, & Albert Lee (2007)
“Isn’t It a Pity” — Eric Clapton (2007)
“Belief” — John Mayer (2007)
“Mas y Mas” — Los Lobos (2007)
“Big Block” — Jeff Beck (2007)
“Presence of the Lord” — Steve Winwood & Eric Clapton (2007)
“Cocaine” — Eric Clapton (2004)
“Waiting for the Bus/Jesus Just Left Chicago” — ZZ Top (2010)
“Don’t Owe You a Thing” — Gary Clark Jr. (2010)
“Bright Lights” — Gary Clark Jr. (2010)

Disc Three:

“Our Love Is Fading” — Sheryl Crow with Eric Clapton, Doyle Bramhall II & Gary Clark Jr. (2010)
“Lay Down Sally” — Vince Gill with Sheryl Crow, Keb’ Mo’, Albert Lee, James Burton & Earl Klugh (2010)
“Space Captain” —  Derek Trucks & Susan Tedeschi Band with Warren Haynes, David Hildago, Cesar Rosas & Chris Stainton (2010)
“Hammerhead” — Jeff Beck (2010)
“Five Long Years” — Buddy Guy with Jonny Lang & Ronnie Wood (2010)
“Hear My Train a Comin'” — Doyle Bramhall II (2010)
“Dear Mr. Fantasy” — Steve Winwood & Eric Clapton (2010)
“Born Under a Bad Sign” — Booker T. with Steve Cropper, Keb’ Mo’, Blake Mills, Matt “Guitar” Murphy & Albert Lee (2013)
“Everyday I Get the Blues” — The Robert Cray Band with B.B. King, Eric Clapton & Jimmie Vaughan (2013)
“Please Come Home” — Gary Clark Jr. (2013)
“Tumbling Dice” — Vince Gill with Keith Urban & Albert Lee (2013)
“I Shot the Sheriff” — Eric Clapton (2010)
“Crossroads” — Eric Clapton (2013)

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.