Home News Classic Rock News Neil Young Celebrates the Earth on Upcoming Live Album

Neil Young Celebrates the Earth on Upcoming Live Album


Credit: Danny ClinchNeil Young will release a new live album titled Earth on June 17 that features a variety of tunes the folk-rock legend performed recently with his current backing group Promise of the Real.

In a statement, Young reveals that Earth is 98 minutes long, and explains that the album “flows as a collection of 13 songs from throughout my life, songs I have written about living here on our planet together.” He adds, “Our animal kingdom is well represented in the audience as well and the animals, insects, birds and mammals actually take over the performances of the songs at times.”

The track list includes four songs that appear on Young’s most recent studio album, 2015’s The Monsanto Years, his classic “After the Gold Rush,” a variety of lesser-known gems from his back catalog and a previously unreleased tune called “Seed Justice.”

Young also posted a message about Earth on his official Facebook page, noting that the album is too long to “fit on iTunes.” He adds, “It breaks all their rules (and couldn’t all really be heard that way anyway). No one who was there will ever forget the love, wonder and beautiful madness of EARTH. I know I won’t.”

Special limited-edition Earth bundles are available for pre-order now at Young’s official online store that feature either a two-CD or a three-LP vinyl set packaged with a poster and a high-res digital version of the album compatible with Neil’s Pono music player. The CD collection will be available on June 17, while the vinyl set won’t be released until August 12.

Also, Young will be attending a listening party for Earth that will be held on Friday, May 6, at the Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County in L.A. The entire album will be played on a Pono system at the event.

Here is the track list of Earth:

“Mother Earth”
“Seed Justice”
“My Country Home”
“The Monsanto Years”
“Western Hero”
“Vampire Blues”
“Hippie Dream”
“After the Gold Rush”
“Human Highway”
“Big Box”
“People Want to Hear About Love”
“Wolf Moon”
“Love & Only Love”

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.