Home News Classic Rock News Billy Idol releases vinyl versions of first two albums, expanded two-LP edition...

Billy Idol releases vinyl versions of first two albums, expanded two-LP edition of 2008 comp


UMeBefore Green Day were crowned princes of pop-punk, there was Billy Idol, who first found solo success in the early ’80s with such adrenalized rock gems as “Dancing with Myself,” “Rebel Yell” and “White Wedding.” Fans now have the chance to revisit Idol’s career thanks to newly released remastered vinyl versions of his first two studio albums — 1982’s self-titled effort and 1983’s Rebel Yell — as well as an expanded two-LP edition of his 2008 hits collection Idolize Yourself: The Very Best of Billy Idol.

Released in July 1982 following the singer’s exit from Generation X, Billy Idol featured “White Wedding” and “Hot in the City,” both of which broke into the top 40 of the Billboard Hot 100. The album has sold more than 500,000 copies in the U.S.

Rebel Yell arrived in stores November 1983, and marked Idol’s true breakthrough into the mainstream. While the title track made it into heavy rotation on MTV, Billy found even bigger chart success with “Eyes Without a Face” and “Flesh for Fantasy,” which peaked at #4 and #29, respectively on the Hot 100. The album reached #6 on the Billboard 200, and has sold more than 2 million copies in the States.

The expanded vinyl edition of Idolize Yourself features the original album’s career-spanning selection of 18 Idol songs, plus two new tracks recorded for the new release — “John Wayne” and “New Future Weapon.”

BillyIdolStore.com is offering exclusive bundles packaging together the vinyl versions of Billy Idol, Rebel Yell and the expanded Idolize Yourself. Among these is the “Ultimate Bundle,” which also includes a Rebel Yell T-shirt, turntable slipmat and a holiday ornament.

Here is the track list of Billy Idol:

“Come On, Come On”
“White Wedding (Part 1)”
“Hot in the City”
“Dead on Arrival”
“Nobody’s Business”
“Love Calling”
“Hole in the Wall”
“Shooting Starts”
“It’s So Cruel”
“Congo Man”

Here’s the track list of Rebel Yell:

“Rebel Yell”
“Daytime Drama”
“Eyes Without a Face”
“Blue Highway”
“Flesh for Fantasy”
“Catch My Fall”
“Crank Call”
“(Do Not) Stand in the Shadows”
“The Dead Next Door”

And here is the expanded Idolize Yourself track list:

Disc One
“Dancing with Myself” — with Generation X
“Hot in the City”
“White Wedding (Part 1)”
“Rebel Yell”
“Eyes Without a Face”
“Flesh for Fantasy”
“Catch My Fall”
“To Be a Lover”
“Don’t Need a Gun”

Disc Two
“Sweet Sixteen”
“Mony, Mony”
“Cradle of Love”
“L.A. Woman”
“Shock to the System”
“World Comin’ Down”
“John Wayne”*
“New Future Weapon”*

* = new song.

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.