Home News Classic Rock News Meat Loaf Teams with “Bat Out of Hell” Collaborator for New Studio...

Meat Loaf Teams with “Bat Out of Hell” Collaborator for New Studio Album, “Braver Than We Are”


429 RecordsMeat Loaf will release a new studio album titled Braver Than We Are this September that features 10 songs composed by his Bat Out of Hell and Bat Out of Hell II: Back into Hell collaborator, Jim Steinman. The new record boasts tunes that span Steinman’s entire career, from the first song he ever wrote to some of his most recent compositions.

Braver Than We Are was produced ex-Anthrax guitarist Paul Crook, a member of Meat Loaf’s backing band The Neverland Express, although Steinman served as created consultant throughout the entire project. The album is the fourth Meat Loaf record completely written by Steinman.

The album’s first single, “Going All the Way,” premiered Wednesday exclusively at RollingStone.com. The track is a dramatic, multi-part rock song reminiscent of Meat Loaf’s classic “Paradise by the Dashboard Light,” and reunites the singer with his “Paradise” duet partner Ellen Foley and his one-time backup singer, Karla DeVito. The new tune is available for purchase now at iTunes. Among the other notable tunes on Braver Than We Are is “Train of Love,” which features a slide guitar solo by longtime Lynyrd Skynyrd member Rickey Medlocke.

Meat Loaf says of the new album, “It’s a tribute to Jim Steinman really. It’s a tribute to both of us and our work together.”

Braver Than We Are will be released September 16 on CD, vinyl and as a digital download. A deluxe CD/DVD version will be available on Amazon, while Target will sell an exclusive edition of the CD featuring three bonus tracks.

Here’s the full track list for the standard version of Braver Than We Are:

“Who Needs the Young”
“Going All the Way”
“Speaking in Tongues”
“Loving You Is a Dirty Job”
“Only When I Feel”
“Skull of Your Country”
“Train of Love”

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.