Home News Classic Rock News Rhino acquires rights to albums by Jefferson Airplane, Jefferson Starship, Starship, Hot...

Rhino acquires rights to albums by Jefferson Airplane, Jefferson Starship, Starship, Hot Tuna, Grace Slick


Jefferson Starship (Michael Ochs Archives/Getty Images)The rights to the recording catalogs of the Jefferson Airplane spinoff groups Jefferson Starship, Starship and Hot Tuna — as well as singer Grace Slick‘s four solo records and other Airplane-related releases — have been acquired by Rhino Entertainment.

The deal also includes two Jefferson Airplane albums, 1972’s Long John Silver and the 1973 live collection Thirty Seconds over Winterland.

Jefferson Starship came together in 1974 after guitarist Jorma Kaukonen and bassist Jack Casady left the Airplane to focus full-time on their psychedelic folk-blues outfit Hot Tuna. The original Jefferson Starship lineup included key Jefferson Airplane members Paul Kantner and Slick; founding Airplane singer Marty Balin joined the fold in ’75.

Balin was replaced by singer Mickey Thomas in 1979 and, following Kantner’s 1984 departure, Jefferson Starship shortened its name to Starship.

The Rhino deal includes all eight studio albums Jefferson Starship released from 1974 through 1984, plus Starship’s three 1980s studio efforts and Hot Tuna’s first five studio albums.

To mark the announcement, Rhino has released a new digital compilation titled Starship Enterprise: The Best of Jefferson Starship & Starship, and also has made Slick’s solo albums available digitally for the first time.

Among the compilation’s many standout tracks are Jefferson Starship’s “Ride the Tiger,” “Miracles,” “Count On Me,” “Jane” and “Find Your Way Back, and Starship’s “We Built This City,” “Sara” and “Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now.”

“We’re real happy to have Rhino take over so much of our catalog,” says Casady. “They have an avid interest in keeping all the great music from our youth relevant and we look forward to a great relationship and all that will manifest.”

Here’s a partial list of albums included in the Rhino deal, all of which are available now digitally:

Jefferson Airplane
Long John Silver (1972)
Thirty Seconds over Winterland (1973)

Jefferson Starship
Dragon Fly (1974)
Red Octopus (1975)
Spitfire (1976)
Earth (1978)
Gold (compilation) (1979)
Freedom at Point Zero (1979)
Modern Times (1981)
Winds of Change (1982)
Nuclear Furniture (1984)

Knee Deep in the Hoopla (1985)
No Protection (1987)
Love Among the Cannibals (1989)
Greatest Hits (Ten Years & Change 1979-1991) (compilation) (1991)

Hot Tuna
Burgers (1972)
The Phosphorescent Rat (1974)
America’s Choice (1975)
Yellow Fever (1975)
Hoppkorv (1976)

Grace Slick
Manhole (1974)
Dreams (1980)
Welcome to the Wrecking Ball! (1981)
Software (1984)

Paul Kantner/Grace Slick/David Frieberg
Baron Von Tollbooth & The Chrome Nun (1973)

And here’s the track list for Starship Enterprise: The Best of Jefferson Starship & Starship:

“Ride the Tiger” — Jefferson Starship
“Caroline” — Jefferson Starship
“Fast Buck Freddie” — Jefferson Starship
“Miracles” — Jefferson Starship
“Play on Love” — Jefferson Starship
“With Your Love” — Jefferson Starship
“Count On Me” — Jefferson Starship
“Runaway” — Jefferson Starship
“Jane” — Jefferson Starship
“Rock Music” — Jefferson Starship
“Find Your Way Back” — Jefferson Starship
“Layin’ It on the Line” — Jefferson Starship
“No Way Out” — Jefferson Starship
“We Built This City” — Starship
“Sara” — Starship
“Tomorrow Doesn’t Matter Tonight” — Starship
“Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now” — Starship
“It’s Not Over (‘Til It’s Over)” — Starship
“Set the Night to Music” — Starship
“It’s Not Enough” — Starship

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.