Home News Classic Rock News Alice in Chains announces new album, “Rainier Fog”; listen to single “So...

Alice in Chains announces new album, “Rainier Fog”; listen to single “So Far Under” now


Credit: Pamela LittkyAlice in Chains has officially announced the title and release date of the band’s next album.

The sixth studio effort from the grunge icons is called Rainier Fog — presumably a reference to Mount Rainier, the highest peak in the band’s home state of Washington — and it’ll arrive on August 24.

Rainier Fog features the previously released single “The One You Know,” as well as a new track titled “So Far Under.” Both songs are available now for digital download.

“It’s about feeling completely up against it — outnumbered, surrounded, facing seemingly unbeatable odds and being really pissed off about it,” vocalist William DuVall says of “So Far Under.”

“It was inspired by personal circumstances, as well as events in the wider world. But it’s not as resigned to defeat as it may seem,” he adds. “The lyric is a cold, hard assessment of a difficult situation, but the music has a message all its own. There’s still room to flip the script.”

Rainier Fog is the follow-up to AiC’s 2013 album The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here. It’s the band’s third release with DuVall on vocals.  He joined Alice in 2006, following the death of original frontman Layne Staley in 2002.

Alice in Chains is currently touring Europe. They’ll launch a U.S. tour in August, which will last into October.

Here’s the Rainier Fog track list:

“The One You Know”
“Rainier Fog”
“Red Giant”
“Deaf Ears Blind Eyes”
“So Far Under”
“Never Fade”
“All I Am”

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.